Renewed commitment for women in science
Sustainable development

  • The 5 Laureates and Grant Winners of 2012

    The 5 Laureates and Grant Winners of 2012 with Professor Günter Blobel, Jury President, Irina Bokova, Director-General of Unesco, and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, President of the L'Oréal Foundation.

  • 2012 Grant Winners

    2012 Grant Winners: Patricia Ng (Singapour), Zoë Hilton (New Zealand), Dora Medina (Mexico), Kathrin Barboza Marquez (Bolivia) et Giomar Borrero (Colombia).

  • Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, Président, L'Oréal Foundation

    Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, Président, L'Oréal Foundation

  • Prof. Jill Farrant (Lauréate for Africa and the Arab World) speaks

    Prof. Jill Farrant (Lauréate for Africa and the Arab World) speaks.

  • On stage: Prof. Frances Ashcroft (Laureate for Europe)

    On stage: Prof. Frances Ashcroft (Laureate for Europe).

  • Prof. Susana López (Laureate for Latin America) speaks

    Prof. Susana López (Laureate for Latin America) speaks.

  • Beauty treatment by an English man

  • Prof. Bonnie Bassler (Laureate for North America)

    Prof. Bonnie Bassler (Laureate for North America) with the Director-General of Unesco, the President of the L’Oréal Foundation and the 2012 grant winners.

  • The 5 Laureates with Irina Bokova and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones

    The 5 Laureates with Irina Bokova and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones.

The 2012 Laureates in Life Sciences:

  • Professor Jill Farrant, Chair of Plant Molecular Physiology Research, Molecular and Cell Biology Department, University of Cape Town, South Africa.
  • Professor Ingrid Scheffer, Chair of Paediatric Neurology Research, University of Melbourne, Australia.
  • Professor Frances Ashcroft, Professor, Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics, University of Oxford, United Kingdom.
  • Professor Susana Lopez, Developmental Genetics and Molecular Physiology, Department of the Institute of Biotechnology, National University of Mexico, Cuernavaca, Mexico.
  • Professor Bonnie Bassler, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University, USA.

The 2012 International Fellows:

  • Medical Chemistry: Peggoty Mutai, PhD Student in Chemistry, Kenya
  • Biotechnology/Biochemistry: Gladys Kakhaka, PhD in Plant Science, Namibia
  • Wildlife biology: Johannie Maria Spaan, PhD Student in Zoology/Ecology, South Africa
  • Behavioural Ecology: Kathrin Barboza Marquez, PhD Student in Biology, Bolivia
  • Marine biology: Giomar Helena Borerro-Pérez, PhD in Biology, Colombia
  • Bioengineering: Dora Medina, PhD in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Mexico
  • Molecular virology: Sidrotun Naim, PhD Student in Environmental Science, Indonesia
  • Marine biology: Zoe Hilton, PhD in Biological Sciences, New Zealand
  • Proteins engineering: Patricia Miang Long, PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology, Singapore
  • Virology: Aziza Hassan Kamel, PhD in Biology, Egypt
  • Cell and molecular biology: Dana Bazzoun, PhD Student in Cell and Molecular Biology, Lebanon
  • Molecular biology and bioinformatics: Emna Harrigua, PhD Student in Molecular Biology, Tunisia
  • Molecular and systemic biology: Naama Geva-Zatorsky, PhD in systemic biology, Israel
  • Molecular and clinic genetics: Elza Van Deel, PhD in Cardiology and Molecular Genetics, Netherlands
  • Molecular microbiology and chemistry: Vita Matje, PhD in Chemistry, Slovenia

Key Figures

  • 5Laureates
  • 15 International Fellows

Expert Section

For more information on this topic, see the GRI data sheets:

Convinced that science is a true fount of progress for society and that women have an essential role to play, each year, L’Oréal and UNESCO renew their common commitment to promote careers in science and single out outstanding women researchers. This year marks the 14th edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards. As such, from 26 to 29 March 2012, 15 international fellows were welcomed in Paris by UNESCO and L’Oréal for a week of scientific discussions and dialogue. The award ceremony, chaired this year by Professor Günter Blobel, winner of the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1999, rounded off this week-long conference. It was held on the evening of 29 March at UNESCO’s headquarters.

The Laureates of this year’s awards - distributed by Irina Bokova, General Director of UNESCO and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, Chairman of the L’Oréal Foundation - were five outstanding women researchers whose work addresses global issues. Irina Bokova stated: "To rise up to tomorrow’s challenges, we must optimise the full potential of science, and women". According to Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones: "This award has changed the lives of many women scientists. As a symbol of our company’s ethical commitment, this programme has both inspired and motivated us."